On April 4, 2016, Governor Andrew Cuomo signed legislation in connection with New York’s 2016-2017 budget that will impact employers large and small throughout the State.  In addition to annual increases to the minimum wage that will ultimately reach $15.00 per hour, the legislation also provides for up to 12 weeks of paid family leave

The New Jersey Legislature became the third state to provide for paid family leave in May of 2008. The New Jersey Paid Family Leave law extends the State Temporary Disability Insurance system to provide any eligible worker with up to six (6) weeks of paid family leave during the first twelve (12) months after the birth